Disclaimer: The following material is being kept online for archival purposes.

Although accurate at the time of publication, it is no longer being updated. The page may contain broken links or outdated information, and parts may not function in current web browsers.

Comparison and Contrast of Solar Maximum and the Approach to Solar Minimum: Transient Solar Disturbances and Recurrent High-Speed Solar Wind Streams and Their Geospace Consequences

Conveners: Dan Baker (LASP/CUB) & Janet Luhmann (UC Berkeley)

We are planning a session at the upcoming April ISTP science team meeting to consider the similarities and differences of the connected sun-Earth system over the course of the 11-year solar cycle. The time of solar (sunspot) maximum is characterized by powerful solar transient events and coronal mass ejections (CMEs). These aperiodic disturbances can cause nonrecurrent geomagnetic storms if the solar effluents reach the Earth. On the other hand, during the approach to sunspot minimum, the solar corona is characterized by large transequatorial coronal holes. These are the source of powerful high-speed solar wind streams. Coronal holes can persist for many solar rotation periods. The high-speed streams drive strong geomagnetic activity (e.g., recurrent geomagnetic storms) and produce the most substantial observed enhancements of the Earth's radiation belts. We note that the years from 2002 to 2005 should be the time of the strongest high-speed solar wind stream activity. We invite presentations that consider the similarities and differences between the solar maximum and the approach to solar minimum conditions for the sun, the interplanetary medium, and the magnetosphere-ionosphere system.

Contributions relating to these and other relevant topics are solicited.

Interested participants should contact one of the organizers with details concerning the talks they wish to present.

Dan Baker (baker@orion.colorado.edu)
Janet Luhmann (jgluhman@SSL.Berkeley.EDU)

Above is background material for archival reference only.

NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASA Official: Adam Szabo

Curators: Robert Candey, Alex Young, Tamara Kovalick

NASA Privacy, Security, Notices